no title

Paul P. Wang (ppw@ee.duke.edu)
Fri, 15 Mar 1996 18:29:52 +0100


>From gu Wed Mar 13 23:27:44 1996
Received: (from gu@localhost)
by ee.duke.edu (8.6.11/Duke-2.0) id SAA23520;
Wed, 13 Mar 1996 18:27:44 -0500
Date: Wed, 13 Mar 1996 18:27:44 -0500
From: Xi-liang Gu <gu@ee.duke.edu>
Message-Id: <199603132327.SAA23520@ee.duke.edu>
To: ppw@ee.duke.edu
Status: R


**************************************************
* Third Joint Conference on Information Sciences *
**************************************************

HONORARY CONFERENCE CHAIRS
Lotfi A. Zadeh & Azriel Rosenfeld

March 1, 1997 (Tutorials)
March 2 - 5, 1997 (Conferences)

******************************** THEME ***********************************
* *
* *
* INTELLIGENT SYSTEMS: SCIENTIFIC FOUNDATIONS AND SPECTRUM OF APPLICATIONS *
* *
****************************************************************************

**** CALL FOR PAPER ****

FT & T'97: Fifth International Conference on Fuzzy Theory & Technology
Chair: Paul P. Wang

IMPORTANT: This is not a stand alone document. Please use it in
conjunction with another document entitled ``Joint Conference General
Administration.'' FT & T 1997 is an integral part of JCIS'97.

IMPORTANT EXPLANATION

1. FT & T'97 has its own ``plenary speakers'' under ``plenary sessions.''
2. You may attend any parallel sessions in JCIS'97.
3. If you would like to contribute to any topics not listed in this CFP,
please contact Wang or Gu.
4. Please observe all the restrictions, regulations and deadline in ``JC
General Administration'' document.

Chair of FT & T'97

Paul P. Wang
Dept. of Electrical Engineering
Box 90291
Duke University
Durham, NC 27708-0291
Tel. (919)660-5271, 660-5259
Fax: (919)660-5293, 684-4860
E-mail:ppw@ee.duke.edu

General Coordinator

Xiliang Gu
Dept. of Electrical Engineering
Box 90291
Duke University
Durham, NC 27708-0291
Tel. (919)660-5233
Fax: (919)660-5293, 684-4860
E-mail:gu@ee.duke.edu

5. The Fifth International Conference on Fuzzy Theory & Technology:
The conference will consist of both plenary sessions and contributory
sessions, focusing on topics of critical interest and the direction of future
research. For contributory sessions, full papers are being solicited. We
welcome you to organize sessions. Example topics include, but are not limited
to, the following:
Topics: 5th Conference on Fuzzy Theory & Technology
* Fuzzy Mathematics
* Basic Principles and Foundations of Fuzzy Logic
* Qualitative and Approximate-Reasoning Modeling
* Hardware Implementations of Fuzzy Logic Algorithms
* Design, Analysis, and Synthesis of Fuzzy Logic Controllers
* Learning and Acquisition of Approximate Models
* Fuzzy Expert Systems
* Fuzzy Neural Systems
* Efficiency/Robustness Comparisons with Other Direct Search
Algorithms
* Integration of Fuzzy Logic and Evolutionary Computing
* Fuzzy Logic in Evolutionary Algorithms
* Fuzzy Pattern Recognition
* Implementations (electronic, Optical, Biochips)
* Intelligent Control & Fuzzy Control
Applications of the topics:
* Hybrid Systems * Image Processing
* Image Understanding * Pattern Recognition
* Robotics, Automation & Manufacturing
* Intelligent Vehicle and Highway Systems
* Virtual Reality * Tactile Sensors
* Machine Vision * Motion Analysis
* Neuro Biology * Sensation and Perception
* Sensorimotor Systems * Speec, Hearing and Language
* Signal Processing * Time Series Analysis
* Prediction * System Identification
* System Control * Intelligent Information Systems
* Case-Based Reasoning * Decision Analysis
* Databases and Information Retrieval
* Dynamic Systems Modeling & Diagnosis
* Electrical & Nuclear Power Systems

Please feel free to contact program committee members for their respective
areas, but make sure to send a copy of your proposed sessions or invited
papers to Gu for general ``knowledge Base'' of JCIS'97.

Jack Aldridge (Fuzzy Software)
email: 73521.2260@CompuSere.COM

Bernadette Bouchon-Meunier (Fuzzy Knowledge Base)
email: bouchon@laforia.ibp.fr

Shan Huo Chen (Fuzzy Operations Research)
email: shchen@axpl.stm.ntou.edu.tw

Robert Erickson (Fuzzy Logic & Brain)
email: ERIC@PSYCH.DUKE.EDU

Irwin R. Goodman (Possibility vs Probability)
email: goodman@cod.nosc.mil

Kaoru Hirota (Fuzzy Robotics)
email: hirota@hrt.sys.titech.ac.jp

Ali Jaoua (Fuzzy Data Base)
email: alijaoua@avicenne.rnrt.tn

Janusz Kacprzyk (Fuzzy Reliability)
email: kacprzyk@ibspan.waw.pl

Abe Kandel (Fuzzy Computer Science Problems)
email: kandel@babbage.csee.usf.edu

George Klir (Fuzzy Set Theory)

Ladislav J. Kohout (Fuzzy Human - Computer Systems)
email: kohout@cs.fsu.edu

Donald H. Kraft (Fuzzy Expert Systems)

Nobuaki Kuroki (Fuzzy Algebra)
email: kuroki@juen.ac.jp

T. Y. Lin (Fuzzy & Rough Set Theory)
email: tylin@cs.sjsu.edu

Marialuisa McAllister (Fuzzy Education)
Fax: 610-861-3980
Tel: 610-865-3187

Liam McDaid (Fuzzy Reasoning)
email: liam@iscm.ulst.ac.uk

John Mordeson (Fuzzy Mathematics, Algebra, Topology & Geometry)
email: mordes@bluejay.creighton.edu

James Murrell (Fuzzy Neural Hybrid System Design)

Akira Nakamura (Fuzzy Logic)
email: nakamura@cs.meiji.ac.jp

Antonio Puliafito (Fuzzy Hardware)
email: ap@iit.unict.it

Arthur Ramer (Fuzzy Measure Theory)
email: ramer@cse.unsw.edu.au

Zbigniew W. Ras (Fuzzy Knowledge Base
email: ras@mosaic.uncc.edu

Salatore S. Sessa (Fuzzy Expert Systems)
Fax: 081-551-7229

Sujeet Shenoi (Fuzzy Data Base, Data Mining)
email: sujeet@euler.mcs.utulsa.edu

Samuel M. Smith (Fuzzy Control Systems Design)
email: smith@oe.fau.edu

Les M. Sztandera (Fuzzy Control)
email: sztandera@hardy.texsci.edu

I. Burhan Turksen (Fuzzy Expert Systems)
email: turksen@ie.utoronto.ca

Joachim Weisbrod (Fuzzy Control)
email: weisbrod@ira.uka.de

Li D. Xu (Fuzzy Management Information)
email: LXU@desire.wright.edu

Robert Young (Fuzzy Constraint Network)
email: young@eos.ncsu.edu