1st CFP SBRN'2000 - Rio

Subject: 1st CFP SBRN'2000 - Rio
Date: Thu Feb 10 2000 - 00:47:15 MET


                        FIRST CALL FOR PAPERS



                 Rio de Janeiro, November 22-25, 2000

SBRN'2000 is the 6th edition of a forum, held biannually in Brazil,
dedicated to neural networks (NNs) and to other models of
computational intelligence. Rio de Janeiro, a city unique for its
natural beauty, is the location of SBRN'2000. Rio is a great place and
has the rhythm to bring people together in a stimulating discussion
about research, development, applications, new technologies and
advances in neural networks.

Sponsored by SBC - The Brazilian Computer Society

Co-Sponsored by SIG/INNNS/Brazil Special Interest Group of the
International Neural Networks Society in Brazil

Organised by COPPE/UFRJ and ILTC

To be published by IEEE Computer Society

Submission: 19 June 2000;
Acceptance: 31 July 2000;
Camera-ready: 21 August 2000

Non-exhaustive list of topics which will be covered during SBRN'2000:

Applications: finances, data mining, neurocontrol, time series
Architectures: cellular NNs, hardware and software implementations,
new models, weightless models; Cognitive Sciences: adaptive behaviour,
natural language, mental processes; Computational Intelligence:
evolutionary systems, fuzzy systems, hybrid systems; Learning:
algorithms, evolutionary and fuzzy techniques, reinforcement learning;
Neurobiological Systems: bio-inspired systems, biologically plausible
networks, vision; Neurocontrol: robotics, dynamic systems, adaptive
control; Neurosymbolic processing: hybrid approaches, logical
inference, rule extraction, structured knowledge; Pattern Recognition:
signal processing, artificial/computational vision; Theory: radial
basis functions, Bayesian systems, function approximation;

Invited Speakers:

     Dana Ballard (University of Rochester, USA)*
     Ernesto Burattini (Istituto di Cibernetica-CNR, Italy)*
     Marie Cottrell (Université d'Evry/SAMOS-Paris I, France)
     Jerome Feldman (ICSI-Berkeley, USA)*
     Maria Eunice Gonzales (UNESP-RC, BR)*
     Antonia J. Jones (Univ. of Wales at Cardiff, UK)
     Noel Sharkey (Univ. of Shefield, UK)*
     Sebastian Thrun (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)*


Paper Submission:

Prospective authors are invited to submit 10-pages, 12 point
single column papers (postscript or pdf format) written in
English, Portuguese or Spanish.

Submission must be made electronically, according to the following

Use the last name of the contact author to name the postscript or pdf
file (e.g., einstein.ps); add numerals for submitting more than one
paper with the same contact author (e.g., einstein1.ps, einstein2.ps).
Large postscript files can be compressed as .zip, .gz or .Z file (in
this case, the file must have the corresponding extension , e.g.,
einstein.ps.gz). Submit the paper by email to sbrn2000@comp.ita.cta.br
by sending a submission notice, with your (possibly compressed)
postscript or pdf file as an attachment. In the submission notice,
include ONLY the following information (please, put one item per line
to allow easy automatic processing): full title of the paper, authors'
first and last names, authors' affiliations, technical area, keywords,
corresponding author (name, postal address, e-mail address, phone and
fax numbers), preferred mode of presentation (oral or poster), and the
abstract of the paper. The submission notice must be in plain ASCII
text. Use the name of the submitted file as subject of the message. Do
not include in the paper any information concerning the contact
author, the presentation, or the technical area.

If you have any problem concerning this submission procedure, contact
the conference organisers by email.

The first volume of the Proceedings will be published by IEEE Computer
Society Press, in time for distribution at the symposium. It will
include only accepted papers written in English and abstracts of
accepted papers written in Portuguese or Spanish. A second volume will
be issued as a CD-ROM, and will contain accepted papers originally
written in Portuguese or Spanish.

General Chair:
Felipe M. G. França (UFRJ/ILTC, Brazil)

Program Chair:
Carlos H. C. Ribeiro (ITA, Brazil)

Tutorials Chair:
Antonio C. S. Branco (ILTC, Brazil)

Steering Comittee:
Aluízio F. R. Araújo (USP-SC, BR)
Antônio de P. Braga (UFMG, BR)
Walmir M. Caminhas (UFMG, BR)
André P. L. F. Carvalho (USP-SC, BR)
Edson Costa B.C. Filho (UFPE, BR)
Felipe M. G. França (UFRJ, BR)
Teresa B. Ludermir (UFPE, BR)
Carlos H. C. Ribeiro (ITA, BR)
Germano Vasconcelos (UFPE, BR)
Gerson Zaverucha (UFRJ, BR)

Program Comittee (temptative):
Paulo J. L. Adeodato (UFPE, BR)
Igor Aleksander (Imperial College, UK)
Nigel M. Allinson (UMIST, UK)
James A. Anderson (Brown Univ., USA)
Aluízio F. R. Araújo (USP-SC, BR)
Dana Ballard (Univ. of Rochester, USA)
Valmir C. Barbosa (UFRJ, BR)
Valeriu Beiu (Los Alamos Lab., USA)
Amit Bhaya (UFRJ, BR)
Antônio de P. Braga (UFMG, BR)
Ernesto Burattini (I. di Cibernetica-CNR, IT)
Euvaldo Cabral (USP, BR)
Walmir M. Caminhas (UFMG, BR)
André P. L. F. Carvalho (USP-SC, BR)
Edson Costa B.C. Filho (UFPE, BR)
Marie Cottrell (Univ. d'Evry/Paris I, FR)
Massimo De Gregorio (I. di Cibernetica-CNR, IT)
Phillipe DeWilde (Imperial College, UK)
Max S. Dutra (UFRJ, BR)
Alexandre Evsukoff (UFRJ/ILTC, BR)
Jerome Feldman (ICSI-Berkeley, USA)
Felipe M. G. França (UFRJ/ILTC, BR)
Sergio E. Gonçalves (UFRJ, BR)
Maria Eunice Gonzales (UNESP-RC, BR)
Helge Ritter (Bielefild Univ., DE)
Antonia J. Jones (Univ. of Wales, UK)
Lokesh Kalia (Imperial College, UK)
Nikola Kasabov (Univ. of Otago, NZ)
Eugenius Kaskurewicz (UFRJ, BR)
Priscila M. V. Lima (ILTC-RJ, BR)
Teresa B. Ludermir (UFPE, BR)
Weber Martins (UFG, BR)
Helen Morton (Brunel Univ., UK)
Cairo L. Nascimento Jr (ITA, BR)
Wilson R. de Oliveira Jr (UFPE, BR)
Nizam Omar (ITA, BR)
Marco A. Pacheco (PUC-RJ, BR)
Luiz A. Pessoa (NIH, USA)
Carlos H. C. Ribeiro (ITA, BR)
Roseli A. F. Romero (USP-SC, BR)
Sandra Sandri (INPE, BR)
José M. Seixas (UFRJ, BR)
Amanda Sharkey (Univ. of Shefield, UK)
Noel Sharkey (Univ. of Shefield, UK)
Jude W. Shavlik (Univ. of Wisconsin, USA)
Marcílio C. P. de Souto (UFPE, BR)
Csaba Szepesvari (Mindmaker Ltd., HG)
Harold Szu (U. of SW Lousiana, USA),
Guglielmo Tamburrini (Univ. di Pisa, IT)
Sebastian Thrun (Carnegie Mellon, USA)
Antonio C. G. Thomé (UFRJ, BR)
Germano Vasconcelos (UFPE, BR)
Marley Vellasco (PUC-RJ, BR)
Vincent Vigneron (Univ. d'Evry/Paris I, FR)
Takeshi Yamakawa (Kyushu, JP),
Takashi Yoneyama (ITA, BR)
Gerson Zaverucha (UFRJ, BR)
Jack M. Zurada (Univ. of Louisville, USA)

Organizing Comittee:
Antonio C. S. Branco (ILTC-RJ)
Max S. Dutra (UFRJ)
Alexandre Evsukoff (UFRJ/ILTC-RJ)
Felipe M. G. França (UFRJ/ILTC-RJ)
Cassiano L. Fróes da Silva (Uniway/Citybank-RJ)
Marco A. Pacheco (PUC-RJ)
Marley Vellasco (PUC-RJ)
Zhijun Yang (UFRJ)

This message was posted through the fuzzy mailing list.
(1) To subscribe to this mailing list, send a message body of
"SUB FUZZY-MAIL myFirstName mySurname" to listproc@dbai.tuwien.ac.at
(2) To unsubscribe from this mailing list, send a message body of
"UNSUB FUZZY-MAIL" or "UNSUB FUZZY-MAIL yoursubscription@email.address.com"
to listproc@dbai.tuwien.ac.at
(3) To reach the human who maintains the list, send mail to
(4) WWW access and other information on Fuzzy Sets and Logic see
(5) WWW archive: http://www.dbai.tuwien.ac.at/marchives/fuzzy-mail/index.html

This archive was generated by hypermail 2b25 : Thu Apr 06 2000 - 15:59:43 MET DST