Preface

The NMR workshop series is the premier specialized forum for researchers in non-monotonic reasoning and related areas. Its aim is to bring together active researchers in the broad area of non-monotonic reasoning, including belief revision, reasoning about actions, argumentation, declarative programming, preferences, non-monotonic reasoning for ontologies, uncertainty, and other related topics.

In 2012, the 14th edition of NMR was held from June 8–10 in Rome, Italy, co-located with the 13th International Conference on Principles of Knowledge Representation and Reasoning (KR 2012).

The program included invited talks by Piero Bonatti, João Leite, and Nicola Leone, as well as 29 regular paper presentations. Six paper were competing for the Best-Student paper, an award given for contributions solely written by students. Bonatti's talk and a technical session were jointly organized with the 25th International Workshop on Description Logics (DL 2012).

This volume contains the final versions of the technical papers of NMR'12, all of which have been peer-reviewed by the PC of NMR'12. The articles nicely reflect the range of areas currently researched within our community, including answer-set programming, argumentation, preferential reasoning, as well as formalizations of action and change.

We would like to take the opportunity here to thank all authors, speakers, reviewers and participants. Their work and contributions were the basis for the success of NMR'12. Moreover, we are particularly grateful to Carola Aiello and the Consulta Umbria agency, who helped us in organizing NMR'12, as well as to Johannes Wallner for his valuable help with the webpage. Finally, we would like to thank our generous sponsors: KR Inc., the AI Journal, the Association for Logic Programming (ALP), and Sapienza Universitá di Roma.

June 2012 Riccardo Rosati Stefan Woltran

Programme Committee

Katie Atkinson (University of Liverpool)

Marcello Balduccini (Kodak Research Labs)

Christoph Beierle (FernUniversitaet in Hagen)

Trevor Bench-Capon (University of Liverpool)

Guido Boella (Universita degli Studi di Torino)

Richard Booth (University of Luxembourg)

Gerhard Brewka (University of Leipzig)

Jan Broersen (Universiteit Utrecht)

John Cantwell (KTH, Stockholm)

Claudette Cayrol (Universite Paul Sabatier)

Nadia Creignou (University Marseille)

Marina De Vos (University of Bath)

Jim Delgrande (Simon Fraser University)

Juergen Dix (TU Clausthal, Germany)

Sylvie Doutre (University of Toulouse)

Conrad Drescher (University of Oxford)

Ulle Endriss (University of Amsterdam)

Wolfgang Faber (University of Calabria)

Michael Fink (Vienna University of Technology)

Giorgos Flouris (University of Cretey)

Martin Gebser (University of Potsdam, Germany)

Guido Governatori (National ICT Australia)

Sven-Ove Hansson (KTH Stockholm)

Zhisheng Huang (Free University of Amsterdam)

Matti Järvisalo (University of Helsinki)

Gabriele Kern-Isberner (Technische Universitaet Dortmund)

Frederic Koriche (Universite Montpellier II)

Thomas Lukasiewicz (Oxford University)

Tommie Meyer (Meraka Institute, Pretoria)

Alessandra Mileo (DERI Galway)

David Mitchell (Simon Fraser University)

Nir Oren (University of Aberdeen)

Maurice Pagnucco (University of New South Wales)

Laurent Perrussel (Universite de Toulouse 1)

Reinhard Pichler (Vienna University of Technology)

Henri Prade (Universite Paul Sabatier)

Ken Satoh (National Institute of Informatics, Japan)

Steven Schockaert (Cardiff University)

Guillermo Simari (Universidad Nacional del Sur)

Terrance Swift (Stony Brook University)

Michael Thielscher (The University of New South Wales)

Francesca Toni (Imperial College London)

Mirek Truszczynski (University of Kentucky)

Joost Vennekens (K.U. Leuven)

Bart Verheij (University of Groningen)

Renata Wassermann (Universidade de Sao Paulo)

Simon Wells (University of Dundee)

Emil Weydert (University of Luxembourg)

Additional Reviewers

Sandeep Chintabathina

Daniela Inclezan

Benjamin Kaufmann

Arne König

Martin Lackner

Philipp Obermeier

Emilia Oikarinen

Max Ostrowski

Odile Papini

Andreas Pfandler

Sean Policarpio

Daniele Porello

Christoph Redl

Daniele Rispoli

Chiaki Sakama

Katsuhiko Sano

Peter Schüller

Hannes Strass

Antonius Weinzierl