Skip to Content

TU Wien Fakultät für Informatik DBAI Database and Artificial Intelligence Group
Top-level Navigation: Current-level Navigation:

Path: DBAI > education > Datenbanktheorie

Tools: Drucken


Datenbanktheorie

VU 181.140 (2.0) Sommersemester 2017

Reinhard Pichler


Table of Contents
News
Registration in TISS is open.
Please register until 05 March, 2017.

General information


Registration and Admission


Course overview

In this course, some fundamental aspects of query languages will be touched on. The following topics will be covered (as time permits):


Schedule of lectures (preliminary plan)

Lecture Date/Place Topic Slides Supplementary material
1 Tuesday, 07-March
9:00 - 11:00
Seminarraum 188/2
General Information
Introduction: Relational Query Languages
dbt00, 4x1
dbt01, 4x1

2 Tuesday, 14-March
9:00 - 11:00
Seminarraum 188/2
Introduction to Datalog
dbt02, 4x1
3 Thursday, 16-March
10:00 - 12:00
Sem. von Neumann
Codd's Theorem dbt03, 4x1
Tuesday, 21-March
Thursday, 23-March
no class


4 Tuesday, 28-March
9:00 - 11:00
Seminarraum 188/2
Trakhtenbrot's Theorem
Information on the Report and Presentation

5 Thursday, 30-March
10:00 - 12:00
Sem. von Neumann
Complexity of Query Evaluation

6 Tuesday, 04-April
9:00 - 11:00
Seminarraum 188/2
Conjunctive Queries
7 Thursday, 06-April
10:00 - 12:00
Sem. von Neumann
Conjunctive Queries (continued)


8 Tuesday, 25-April
9:00 - 11:00
Seminarraum 188/2
Ehrenfeucht-Fraïssé Games
9 Thursday, 27-April
10:00 - 12:00
Sem. von Neumann
Ehrenfeucht-Fraïssé Games
(continued)

10 Tuesday, 02-May
9:00 - 11:00
Seminarraum 188/2
Beyond relational data
11 Thursday, 04-May
10:00 - 12:00
Sem. von Neumann
reserve


12 tbd students' presentations


Assessment

Assessment will be based on students' presentations and an oral exam at the end of the term. Detailed information will be provided in the first class.

Selection of References

S. Abiteboul, R. Hull, and V. Vianu: Foundations of Databases, Addison-Wesley, 1995.
G. Gottlob, N. Leone, and F. Scarcello: The Complexity of Acyclic Conjunctive Queries, J. ACM 48(3): 431-498 (2001) (acm digital library).
G. Kolaitis: On the Expressive Power of Logics on Finite Models (pdf).


Last modified 26 February, 2017