IPMM-2001 Call for Papers

Frank Hoffmann (fhoffman@cs.berkeley.edu)
Mon, 8 Nov 1999 18:34:44 +0100 (MET)

*********************************************************************
Berkeley Initiative in Soft Computing (BISC)
*********************************************************************
From: "John A. Meech" <jam@dccnet.com>

IPMM-2001

The Third International Conference on
Intelligent Processing and Manufacturing of Materials

Sunday, July 29th, to Friday, August 3rd, 2001
Hilton Vancouver Airport Hotel, Richmond, British Columbia, Canada <http://mining.ubc.ca/ipmm/>

CALL FOR PAPERS

CONFERENCE THEME:
Cross-Disciplinary Research in IPMM - an Essential Ingredient for Innovation!
IPMM-2001 is the third in a series of bi-annual conferences dedicated to sharing new developments in intelligent
approaches to the processing and manufacturing of materials. The first two IPMM events were held in Australia in 1997
and in Hawaii in 1999. The IPMM Technical Program derives from a wide set of fields including materials science and
engineering, computer science and engineering, mechanical, industrial, electrical, metallurgical, mining and
manufacturing engineering, instrumentation, biological computing, as well as the soft sciences of artificial psychology
and human-machine interfaces. Applications involve soft-computing methods such as fuzzy expert systems, artificial
neural networks, genetic algorithms and evolutionary computation together with conventional approaches such as numerical
methods, optimization techniques, thermodynamic modeling and hybrid methods. IPMM-2001 is being held immediately
following the Joint 9th IFSA World Congress and 20th NAFIPS International Conference which is being held in Vancouver
from July 25th - 28th, 2001. A discount is available for those registering for both events.

PROGRAM
The IPMM-2001 Technical Program will consist of Plenary Sessions, Full-Paper Presentations and Poster Sessions. In
addition to contributed papers, a number of invited papers by leading researchers in each field will be featured. All
papers will be peer-reviewed by at least two referees based on quality and content relevant to the conference areas and
theme.

POST-CONFERENCE WORKSHOP - VIRTUAL MANUFACTURING
Following the main conference, a 2-day workshop is scheduled on Virtual Manufacturing of Materials organized by Dr.
Steven R. LeClair of the Materials Directorate at the Wright-Patterson Airforce Base in Ohio. Participation at this
workshop is by invitation only, although observer registration status will be available. Presentations will be made by
leading experts in manufacturing science, materials property prediction and smart materials in a coordinated effort to
provide a cohesive understanding of this rapidly-expanding field.
KEYNOTE SPEAKERS - as of November 5, 1999.

Opening Plenary Speaker
Lotfi Zadeh, Berkeley Initiative in Soft Computing, University of California, Berkeley, CA

Future Space Missions and Biohazard Implications
Karen Meech, Institute of Astronomy, University of Hawaii, Honolulu, HI, USA
meech@nihoa.ifa.hawaii.edu

Holographic Neural Technology - Theory and Applications
John Sutherland, President, AND Corporation, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
sutherland@andcorporation.com

Molecular Computing - a Promise for Information Technology
Jan Mulawka, Institute of Electronics, Warsaw University of Technology, Warsaw, Poland
jml@ise.pw.edu.pl

ABSTRACT SUBMISSIONS
Abstracts can be submitted at <http://mining.ubc.ca/ipmm/or by email to <ipmm@mining.ubc.ca>.
Alternatively, 3 copies of a 2-page extended abstract can be sent by November 15, 2000 to:

IPMM-2001 Secretariat
Department of Mining and Mineral Process Engineering,
University of British Columbia,
6350 Stores Road, Vancouver, B.C., V4M 1J2, CANADA
TEL: 604-822-3984
FAX: 604-822-5599

Submissions should include the address, phone and FAX numbers, and e-mail address of the principal author. Decisions
will be communicated by Jan. 1, 2001. A 6-page camera-ready paper is due by Feb. 15, 2001 together with the conference
registration fee. The paper format is described on our web site at <http://mining.ubc.ca/ipmm/format.htm/>. Please
indicate if you are submitting a Full Paper or a Poster Paper with 5-min. overview presentation or a Poster Paper with
no presentation.

CONFERENCE SITE
The conference will be held in Richmond, British Columbia, a suburb of Vancouver. The hotel is located 5 minutes from
the Vancouver International Airport at the Richmond Convention Centre, a facility shared by 3 hotels: The Hilton
(http://www.hilton.com/hotels/YVRAHHF/); The Marriott (http://marriotthotels.com/YVRSA/) and The Best Western Richmond
Inn. (http://richmondinn.com/). All 3 hotels will offer special IPMM-2001 room rates.

Located on the Pacific Ocean, Vancouver has a temperate climate. During July-August, the weather is typically sunny with
a temperature range of 20-28 °C (68-85 °F). With the gentle ocean breeze, there is no humidity. The site is within
walking distance of many fine restaurants, bars, shops, cinemas and nature trails. Downtown Vancouver is a 20-minute
drive to the north while the ferry terminal to Vancouver Island is 20 minutes to the south.

A Dinner Cruise in Vancouver's beautiful English Bay and Coal Harbour will coincide with the annual Symphony of Fire
fireworks competition. An extensive Companions' Program is being planned with tours to Victoria, Stanley Park, Grouse
Mountain, Capilano Suspension Bridge and the UBC Botanical Gardens and Anthropology Museum. Post conference tours will
include the UBC Advanced Materials and Process Engineering Laboratory, Microsoft Corporation, Ballard Energy Systems,
Highland Valley Copper Mine and the Robotics Laboratory at Simon Fraser University.

CONFERENCE SPONSORS

US Army Research Office, NC
US Air Force, Wright-Patterson AF-Base, OH
Oak Ridge National Laboratory, TN

IPMM is ASSOCIATED WITH
CIM - Canadian Inst. Mining, Metallurgy & Petroleum
IEEE - Systems, Man and Cybernetics Society
IFSA - International Fuzzy Systems Association
JSTP - Japan Society for Technology of Plasticity
NAFIPS - North American Fuzzy Information Processing Society
ManSA - Manufacturing Society of Australia
TMS - The Metallurgical Society of AIME

HONORARY CHAIR
Lotfi A. Zadeh (USA) hzies@cs.berkeley.edu

GENERAL CHAIRS
John A. Meech (Canada) jam@mining.ubc.ca
Madjid Fathi (Germany) fathi@ls1.cs.uni-dortmund.de

PROGRAM CHAIR
Marcello Veiga (Canada/Brazil) veiga@mining.ubc.ca

EXHIBITION CHAIR
Debbie McCoy (USA) mccoydd@ornl.gov

AREA CHAIRS
Fuzzy Systems
Michael H. Smith (Canada/USA) mhs@mining.ubc.ca

Neural Networks
Bhavin Mehta (USA) mehta@bobcat.ent.ohiou.edu

Evolutionary Computing
Helena Szczerbicka (Germany) helena@informatik.uni-bremen.de

Hybrid Systems
Heikki Hyötyniemi (Finland) heikki.hyotyniemi@hut.fi

Data Mining and Data Fusion
D. Daniel Zhu (USA) dan@zaptron.com

Image Processing and Analysis
Giuseppe Bonifazi (Italy) bonifazi@usa.net

DNA Computing
Jan J. Mulawka (Poland) jml@ise.pw.edu.pl

Simulation in Materials Science
Thomas Zacharia (USA) zac@ornl.gov

Atomistic Modeling
Yoshiyuki Kawazoe (Japan) kawazoe@imr.edu

Network Communication Systems
Guy M. Nicoletti (USA) nicolett+@pitt.edu

Large-Scale Systems
Wayne Davis (USA) w-davis@uiuc.edu

Manufacturing Science & Systems
Edward Szczerbicki (Australia) mees@cc.newcastle.edu.au

Metals Processing (Alloys & MMCs)
Kei Ameyama (Japan) ameyama@mail.bkc.ritsumei.ac.jp

Materials Processing
Kenichi Manabe (Japan) manabe@mech.metro-u.ac.jp

Intelligent Instrumentation
P. Herbert Osanna (Austria) osanna@eftuv1.ift.tuwien.ac.at

Wireless Communication Systems
Yoshiyasu Takefuji (Japan) takefuji@sfc.keio.ac.jp

Intelligent Process Control
Guy Dumont (Canada) guyd@ece.ubc.ca

Intelligent Mining Systems
Malcolm Scoble (Canada) malcolms@interchange.ubc.ca

INTERNATIONAL PROGRAM COMMITTEE
John F. Atkinson (USA) John.Atkinson@msl.redstone.army.mil
Gregory Baiden (Canada) GBaiden@inco.com
Osvaldo Bascur (USA) osvaldo@osisoft.com
Oscar Castillo (Mexico) ocastillo@mail.tij.cetys.mx
Derek Cheung (Hong Kong) Derek.Cheung@cityu.edu.hk
Jonathan C.Y. Chung (Hong Kong) JonathanC.Y.Chung@cityu.edu.hk
Stanislav Cierpisz (Poland) cierpisz@zeus.polsl.gliwice.pl
J. Arlin Cooper (USA) acooper@sandia.gov
Earl D. Cox (USA) ecox@metus.com
Laszlo Cser (Hungary/Finland) cser@hut.fi
Rian J. Dippenaar (Australia) rian@uow.edu.au
Slavko Dolinsek (Slovenia) slavko.dolinsek@fs.uni-lj.si
Antonio Donnarumma (Italy) Donnaru@bridge.diima.unisa.it
Manuel A. Duarte (Chile) mduartem@cec.uchile.cl
Hesham Eldeib, (Egypt) eldeeb@eri.sci.eg
Junichi Endou (Japan) endo@ctas1.mse.kanagawa-it.ac.jp
Joel Frigiere (France) joel.frigiere@irsid.usinor.com
Manfred Geiger (Germany) M.Geiger@lft.uni-erlangen.de
Guillermo D. González (Chile) gugonzal@cec.uchile.cl
William Gruver (Canada) gruver@cs.sfu.ca
Adam Grzech (Poland) grzech@ists.pwr.wroc.pl
Rod Guthrie (Canada) rod@minmet.lan.mcgill.ca
Hani Henein (Canada) Hani.Henein@UAlberta.ca
Daniel Hodouin (Canada) daniel.hodouin@gmn.ulaval.ca
Suichi Iwata (Japan) iwata@race.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Sirkka-Liisa Jämsä-Jounela (Finland) sirkka-l@hut.fi
Chung Gil Kang (Korea) cgkang@hyowon.cc.pusan.ac.kr
Juergen Leopold (Germany) 100536.1232@compuserve.com
Derek A. Linkens (U.K.) D.Linkens@sheffield.ac.uk
Rang Su Liu (P.R. China ) rsliu@mail.hunu.edu.cn
Jane T. Malin (USA) jane.t.malin1@jsc.nasa.gov
Patricia Melin (USA) emelin@mail.tij.cetys.mx
Alec Mitchell (Canada) alecm@interchange.ubc.ca
Laszlo Monostori (Hungary) monostori@sztaki.hu
Yoshiyuki Nagasaka (Japan) nagasaka@dis.osaka-sandai.ac.jp
Douglas H. Norrie (Canada) norrie@enme.ucalgary.ca
Cesary Orlowski (Poland) cor@zie.pg.gda.pl
Rimas Pakalnis (Canada) rcp@mining.ubc.ca
Yoh Han Pao (USA) yxp@po.cwru.edu
Witold Pedrycz (Canada) pedrycz@ee.ualberta.ca
Jeffrey Pieper (Canada) pieper@enme.ucalgary.ca
Alan Russell (Canada) adr@civil.ubc.ca
Yoshihiro Saito (Japan) saito@mat.eng.osaka-u.ac.jp
Jaroslav Sestak (Czech Republic) sestak@fzu.cz
Susumu Shima (Japan) shima@mech.kyoto-u.ac.jp
Vanessa Torres (Brazil) van@cvrd.com.br
Desmond Tromans (Canada) des@cmpe.ubc.ca
I. Burhan Turksen (Canada) turksen@mie.utoronto.ca
Mihaela Uliera (Canada) Ulieru@enme.ucalgary.ca
Jannie van Deventer (Australia) jsj.van_deventer@chemeng.unimelb.edu.au
Tu Van Le (Australia) VanL@ise.canberra.edu.au
R. Villas-Boas (Brazil) villasboas@cetem.gov.br
Robert H. Wagoner (USA) wagoner@er6.eng.ohio-state.edu
Hans-Juergen Zimmerman (Germany) zi@buggi.or.rwth-aachen.de

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Frank Hoffmann UC Berkeley
Computer Science Division Department of EECS
Email: fhoffman@cs.berkeley.edu phone: 1-510-642-8282
URL: http://http.cs.berkeley.edu/~fhoffman fax: 1-510-642-5775
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you ever want to remove yourself from this mailing list,
you can send mail to <Majordomo@EECS.Berkeley.EDU> with the following
command in the body of your email message:
unsubscribe bisc-group
or from another account,
unsubscribe bisc-group <your_email_adress>
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Do NOT send unsubscribe requests to bisc-group@cs.berkeley.edu
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

############################################################################
This message was posted through the fuzzy mailing list.
(1) To subscribe to this mailing list, send a message body of
"SUB FUZZY-MAIL myFirstName mySurname" to listproc@dbai.tuwien.ac.at
(2) To unsubscribe from this mailing list, send a message body of
"UNSUB FUZZY-MAIL" or "UNSUB FUZZY-MAIL yoursubscription@email.address.com"
to listproc@dbai.tuwien.ac.at
(3) To reach the human who maintains the list, send mail to
fuzzy-owner@dbai.tuwien.ac.at
(4) WWW access and other information on Fuzzy Sets and Logic see
http://www.dbai.tuwien.ac.at/ftp/mlowner/fuzzy-mail.info
(5) WWW archive: http://www.dbai.tuwien.ac.at/marchives/fuzzy-mail/index.html