FT&T 2000

Frank Hoffmann (fhoffman@cs.berkeley.edu)
Fri, 30 Apr 1999 15:21:07 +0200 (MET DST)

*********************************************************************
Berkeley Initiative in Soft Computing (BISC)
*********************************************************************

7th International Conference on Fuzzy Theory & Technology (FT&T 2000)
Trump Taj Mahal Casino and Resort
Atlantic City, New Jersey USA
February 27-March 3, 2000

Conference Co-Chairs: Janusz Kacprzyk, Ron R. Yager

Program Co-Chairs: Dan Schwartz (schwartz@nu.cs.fsu.edu),
Sujeet Shenoi (sujeet@euler.mcs.utulsa.edu)

FT&T 2000 is part of the Fifth Joint Conference on Information Sciences,
(www.ee.duke/JCIS/) which offers nine related conferences/workshops with
the following keynote and plenary speakers:

Jim Anderson
Wolfgang Banzhaf
B. Chandrasekaran
Lawrence J. Fogel
Walter J. Freeman
David E. Goldberg
Ira Goodman
Stephen Grossberg
T. S. Huang
A. C. Kak
S. C. Kak
Janusz Kacprzyk
John Mordeson
Kumpati S. Narenda
Anil Nerode
Huang T. Nguyen
Karl H. Pribram
Azriel Rosenfeld
Jeffrey P. Sutton
Ron Yager
Lotfi Zadeh

For regular sessions, please submit 3 copies of an extended summary not
exceeding 4 pages of 10-point font, double-column, single-spaced text (1
page minimum) with figures and tables included. For contributory sessions,
submit your proposed topic and the number of anticipated participants you
wish to invite (about 3-5 per session). All accepted summaries will appear
in the Proceedings. Long papers may be submitted at the conference for
possible publication in Information Sciences, an international journal
published by Elsevier and/or special-edition books. Send
submissions/proposals/inquiries to

Dr. Daniel G. Schwartz
Department of Computer Science
Florida State University
Tallahassee, FL 32306-4530
USA

Deadline for both summaries and session proposals is September 1, 1999.
Paper acceptance notifications will be sent by November 1, 1999. Revised
summaries should submitted, ready for publication, by January 1, 2000.

A fee of $180 must be submitted on or before December 1, 1999 to guarantee
publication of your 4-page summary in the Proceedings. The publication fee
is deductible from either the full or preconference discounted registration
fee. There are additional fees for publishing more than one paper or papers
longer than 4 pages (10 point, double-column, single-spaced text). Please
visit the JCIS web site for additional information on these charges.
Summaries accepted for publication in Information Sciences must be in LaTeX
style.
FT&T 2000 Conference Topics

The 7th International Conference on Fuzzy Theory & Technology will consist
of both plenary sessions and contributory sessions, focusing on topics of
critical interest and the direction of future research. For contributory
sessions, full papers are being solicited. We welcome you to organize
sessions. Example topics include, but are not limited to, the following:

Fuzzy mathematics
Basic principles and foundations of fuzzy logic, information granularity
Qualitative and approximate-reasoning modeling
Hardware implementations of fuzzy logic controllers
Learning and acquisition of approximate models
Fuzzy expert systems
Fuzzy neural systems
Efficiency/robustness comparisons of genetic algorithm with other direct
search algorithms
Integration of fuzzy logic and evolutionary computing
Fuzzy logic in evolutionary algorithms
Fuzzy pattern recognition
Implementations (electronic, optical, biochips)
Intelligent control & fuzzy control

Applications of the topics:
Hybrid systems
Image processing
Image understanding
Pattern recognition
Robotics, automation and manufacturing
Intelligent vehicle and highway systems
Virtual reality
Tactile sensors
Machine vision
Motion analysis
Neuro biology
Sensation and perception
Signal processing
Time series analysis
Prediction
System identification
Intelligent control
Intelligent information systems
Case-based reasoning
Decision analysis
Databases and information retrieval
Dynamic systems modeling & diagnosis
Electrical and nuclear power systems
Textile science and technology

Conference Co-Chairs:
Janusz Kacprzyk, Ron R. Yager

Program Co-Chairs:
Dan Schwartz (schwartz@nu.cs.fsu.edu),
Sujeet Shenoi (sujeet@euler.mcs.utulsa.edu)

Program Committee:
(E-mail addresses are listed next to the committee members)

Mounir Ben Ghalia (mbg@ee.duke.edu)
Bernadette Bouchon-Meunier (bouchon@laforia.ibp.fr)
Shan Huo Chen (schen@ntou66.edu.tw)
Don Cooley (cooley@don.cs.usu.edu)
Christopher Deschenes (sjdeschenes@fandago.Read.TASC.COM)
Miguel Lopez-Diaz
John P. Dougherty
(jdougher@thunder.ocis.temple.edu)
Robert Erickson (eric@psych.duke.edu)
Ashish Ghosh (ash@isical.ernet.in)
Maria Angeles Gil (angeles@pinon.ccu.uniovi.es)
Irwin Goodman (goodman@cod.nosc.mil)
Silviu Guiasu (mathstat@yorku.ca)
Tom Head (tom@math.binghamton.edu)
Michiel Heerema (heerema@phys.uva.nl)
Kaoru Hirota (hirota@hrt.sys.titech.ac.jp)
Frank Hoffman (fhoffman@cs.berkeley.edu)
Donald Hung (dhung.cse.cuhk.edu.hk)
Yukuo Isomoto
(yisomoto@cc.nagoya-cu.ac.jp)
Ali Jaoua (alijaoua@avicenne.rnrt.tn)
Joaquim Jorge (Joaquim.Jorge@inesc.pt)
Benjoe A. Juliano (Juliano@ecst.csuChico.edu
Janusz Kacprzyk (kacprzyk@ibspan.waw.pl)
George Klir
Ladislav J. Kohout (kohout@cs.fsu.edu)
Heikki N. Koivo (koivo@csc.fi)
Donald H. Kraft
Robert Lai (csrlai@cs.yzit.edu.tw)
Christopher Landauer (cal@aero.org)
Vincenzo Loia (loia@dia.unisa.it)
Marialuisa McAllister (mcallist@moravian.edu)
Liam McDaid (liam@iscm.ulst.ac.uk)
John Mordeson (mordes@bluejay.creighton.edu)
Masao Muhaidono (MASAO@CS.MEIJI.AC.JP)
Anthony Norcio (norcio@umbc.edu)
Hung T. Nguyen (hunguyen@nmsu.edu)
Sankar K. Pal (sanka@isical.ac.in)
Antonio Puliafito (ap@iit.unict.it)
Arthur Ramer (ramer@cse.unsw.edu.au)
Zbigniew W. Ras (ras@mosaic.uncc.edu)
Imre J. Rudas (Rudas@Zeus.banki.hu)
Da Ruan (druan@sckcen.be)
Salatore S. Sessa (Fax: 081-551-7229)
Sujeet Shenoi (sujeet@euler.mcs.utulsa.edu)
Samuel M. smith (smith@oe.fau.edu)
Tom Sudkamp@valhalla.cs.wright.edu)
Les M. Sztandera (les@spartan.texsci.edu)
I Burhan Turksen (turksen@ie.utoronto.ca)
Mihaela Uliera (Ulieru@enme.ucalgary.ca)
George Vachtsevanos
A.J. van der Wal (wal@qtecq.com)
G.J. Wang
Joachim Weisbrod (weisbrod@fzi.de)
Ron Yager (rry1@iona.bitnet)
Robert Young (young@eos.ncsu.edu)

If you ever want to remove yourself from this mailing list,
you can send mail to <Majordomo@EECS.Berkeley.EDU> with the following
command in the body of your email message:
unsubscribe bisc-group
or from another account,
unsubscribe bisc-group <your_email_adress>
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Do NOT send unsubscribe requests to bisc-group@cs.berkeley.edu
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

############################################################################
This message was posted through the fuzzy mailing list.
(1) To subscribe to this mailing list, send a message body of
"SUB FUZZY-MAIL myFirstName mySurname" to listproc@dbai.tuwien.ac.at
(2) To unsubscribe from this mailing list, send a message body of
"UNSUB FUZZY-MAIL" or "UNSUB FUZZY-MAIL yoursubscription@email.address.com"
to listproc@dbai.tuwien.ac.at
(3) To reach the human who maintains the list, send mail to
fuzzy-owner@dbai.tuwien.ac.at
(4) WWW access and other information on Fuzzy Sets and Logic see
http://www.dbai.tuwien.ac.at/ftp/mlowner/fuzzy-mail.info
(5) WWW archive: http://www.dbai.tuwien.ac.at/marchives/fuzzy-mail/index.html