ECAI-98 #5: FINAL CALL FOR PAPERS AND PRE-CONFERENCE PROGRAMME

ecai98@cogs.susx.ac.uk
Mon, 19 Jan 1998 00:30:37 +0100 (MET)

______ _____ ___
| | / \ /\ | |
| ---| | ___| /__\ |___| __ ,-
| ---| | | / \ | | / || |
|______| \_____/ /______\ |___| `-/ \'
/ / \
AUGUST 23-28 1998 BRIGHTON UK ( `-'

**** The deadline for submission of technical papers to the ECAI-98 ****
**** conference is 23 January 1998. Full details in previous emails ****
**** and on the website at http://www.cogs.susx.ac.uk/ecai98. ****
**** ****
**** The website now includes latex style files for submissions ****
**** (NB: now at version 2, dated 14 January 1998) ****

The ECAI-98 Organising Committee is pleased to announce a comprehensive
pre-conference programme of tutorials and workshops. 12 tutorials and 23
workshops will take place on 24 and 25 August 1998, covering a wide
range of AI topics. The following lists the titles, principal contact
and *provisional* scheduling of the programme. Further details are
available on the ECAI-98 website:

http://www.cogs.susx.ac.uk/ecai98/tw/timetable.html

TUTORIALS

24 August 1998 - AM
T1 Access and management of information in the web
Daniele Nardi (nardi@dis.uniroma1.it)
T2 Applying agent technology
Nicholas R. Jennings (N.R.Jennings@qmw.ac.uk)
T3 Local search techniques for scheduling problems
Andrea Schaerf (aschaerf@dis.uniroma1.it)
24 August 1998 - PM
T4 Qualitative spatial reasoning
Anthony G Cohn (agc@scs.leeds.ac.uk)
T5 Inductive logic programming
Peter Flach (Peter.Flach@cs.bris.ac.uk)
T6 Automatic text summarisation
Udo Hahn (hahn@coling.uni-freiburg.de)
25 August 1998 - AM
T7 Intelligent multimedia interface agents
Elisabeth Andre (andre@dfki.de)
T8 Rough sets for data mining and knowledge discovery
Jan Komorowski (Jan.Komorowski@control.lth.se)
T9 Applying case-based reasoning: techniques for enterprise systems
Ian Watson (i.d.watson@surveying.salford.ac.uk)
25 August 1998 - PM
T10 Agent theory
Michael Wooldridge (M.J.Wooldridge@qmw.ac.uk)
T11 Connectionist models for processing structured information
Marco Gori (marco@neuron.ing.unisi.it)
T12 Ontological engineering
Asuncion Gomez-Perez (asun@delicias.dia.fi.upm.es)

WORKSHOPS

24 August 1998
W1 Combining AI and graphics for the interface of the future
Thomas Rist (rist@dfki.de)
W2 Applications of ontologies and problem-solving methods
Asuncion Gomez-Perez (asun@delicias.dia.fi.upm.es)
W3 Empirical AI
Toby Walsh (tw@dai.ed.ac.uk)
W4 Constraint techniques for artistic applications
François Pachet (pachet@csl.sony.fr)
W5 Model based systems and qualitative reasoning
John McCardle (jrm@pophost.aber.ac.uk)
W6 Practical reasoning and rationality
John Bell (jb@dcs.qmw.ac.uk)
W7 Binding environmental sciences and artificial intelligence
Ulises Cortes (ia@lsi.upc.es)
W8 Synthesis of intelligent agent systems from experimental data
Jan Komorowski (Jan.Komorowski@control.lth.se)
W9 Machine discovery
Vincent Corruble, (disco98@csd.abdn.ac.uk)
W10 AI/Alife and entertainment
Frank Nack (nack@darmstadt.gmd.de)
W11 Decision theory meets artificial intelligence - qualitative and quantitative approaches
Jerome Lang (lang@irit.fr)
W12 Monitoring and control of real-time intelligent systems
Abdel-Illah Mouaddib (mouaddib@cril.univ-artois.fr)

25 August 1998
W13 Multilinguality in the lexicon II
Lynne Cahill (Lynne.Cahill@cogs.susx.ac.uk)
W14 Intelligent virtual environments
Ruth Aylett (R.S.Aylett@iti.salford.ac.uk)
W15 Non binary constraints
Jean-Charles Regin (regin@ilog.fr)
W16 Conflicts among agents: avoid or use them?
Catherine Tessier (Catherine.Tessier@cert.fr)
W17 Many-valued logic for AI applications
Patrick Eklund (peklund@cs.umu.se)
W18 Building, maintaining and using organizational memories
Stefan Decker (Stefan.Decker@aifb.uni-karlsruhe.de)
W19 Abduction and induction in AI
Peter Flach (Peter.Flach@cs.bris.ac.uk)
W20 Model based reasoning for intelligent education environments
Bert Bredeweg (bert@swi.psy.uva.nl)
W21 Intelligent data analysis in medicine and pharmacology (IDAMAP 98)
Riccardo Bellazzi (ric@aim.unipv.it)
W22 Spatial and temporal reasoning
Hans W. Guesgen (hans@cs.auckland.ac.nz)
W23 Intelligent information integration
Holger Wache (wache@informatik.uni-bremen.de)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
ECAI-98 Secretariat Tel: +44(0)1273 678448
Centre for Advanced Software Applications Fax: +44(0)1273 671320
University of Sussex Email: ecai98@cogs.susx.ac.uk
Brighton, BN1 9QH, UK URL: http://www.cogs.susx.ac.uk/ecai98

ECAI-98 is organised by the European Coordinating Committee for Artificial
Intelligence (ECCAI) and hosted by the Universities of Brighton and Sussex
on behalf of AISB.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------